
Requirements for Non-Participating 
Manufacturer to be included in the  
Illinois Directory of Compliant NPMs 
 
The Illinois Directory of Compliant NPMs is provided on a quarterly basis (or 
upon request) to all distributors who are licensed to stamp tobacco products for 
Illinois sale. The Statutes, Rules, Manufacturer forms, and Directories are 
available on our agency website, www.IllinoisAttorneyGeneral.gov (click on 
Tobacco on bottom banner).  
 
 
The following documentation is required: 

  State of Illinois Certification of Non-Participating Manufacturer (NPM-1) 
 
  Certification of Appointment of Agent for Service of Process (NPM-2) 

  Certification of Additional Information (NPM-3) 

  Certification of Additional Information for Foreign NPM (NPM-F) 

  Non-Participating Manufacturer’s Sales Information (NPM-S) 

  Certification of Little Cigar/Cigarette (NPM-LC) 

Certification Requirements Include: 
  
  The completion in full of all above forms including any required or necessary attachments or exhibits 

along will all necessary signatures.   
 

Failure to complete any or all of the required information will result in removal from the Illinois 
Directory of Compliant NPMs.  
 

 
Information That Must be Supplemented 
  
  File a supplemental certification to update list of brand families at least 30 days prior to any addition 

to or modification of its brand families. 
 
  Provide at least 30 calendar days notice to the Attorney General prior to terminating authority of agent 

for service of process. 
 
  Provide at least 5 days notice of the appointment of a new agent prior to termination of existing agent. 
 
  If an agent terminates the appointment, the NPM must notify the Attorney General within 5 days of 

the termination and must include proof of appointment of a new agent. 
 
 

http://www.illinoisattorneygeneral.gov/


Newly-Listed & Quarterly Paying Manufacturers  
  
  File Quarterly Affidavit of Non-Participating Manufacturer Regarding Quarterly Escrow Payment (NPM-

Q) and pay quarterly into escrow for the first four quarters after their initial addition to the Directory. 
 
  Deposits are due by the last day of the month following the end of the quarter: 

  
Jan. 31 Quarterly Affidavit for Oct.-Dec. and 

proof of deposit 
 
Apr. 30 Quarterly Affidavit for Jan.-Mar. and 

proof of deposit 
 

Jul. 31  Quarterly Affidavit for Apr.-Jun. and 
proof of deposit 

 
Oct. 31 Quarterly Affidavit for Jul.-Sept. and 

proof of deposit 
 

  File Reconciliation Affidavit (NPM-R). A Reconciliation Affidavit and payment are required for each 
year for which you submitted one or more quarterly payments (e.g. if your first quarterly payment was 
July 31, 2022, you would reconcile April 15, 2023 for 2022 and again on April 15, 2024 for 2023). 

   
 
Cigarette Fire Safety Standard Act, 425 ILCS §8/1, et seq.  
  
  Effective January 1, 2008 certifications must be filed with the Illinois State Fire Marshal and a copy 

sent to the Attorney General, as required by the Cigarette Fire Safety Standard Act. 
 
  Provide a copy of the approval letter from the Illinois State Fire Marshal, as well as a list of brand styles 

that have been approved or are pending approval.  Complete the FS-1 in its entirety and include all 
attachments and supplemental information requested by the form. Every three years all brand styles 
intended to be listed on the Illinois directory must be recertified with the Illinois State Fire Marshall.   
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